Warning: Illegal string offset '_imagedir' in /home/cakephpf/public_html/lofiversion/index.php on line 545

Warning: Illegal string offset '_emodir' in /home/cakephpf/public_html/lofiversion/index.php on line 546
CakePHP UnOfficial Community Forum > General Layout Question...
Help - Search - Member List - Calendar
Full Version: General Layout Question...
CakePHP UnOfficial Community Forum > Layouts and Design

gsolomonuk
Hi,

I have a feeling this may be a dumb question, I have been looking at CakePHP, I am new to MVC & am generally quiet impressed (the validation methods extremely cool), however, I have followed the blog tutorial and done some brief reading, I can't seem to find out how I can display multiple views to my user.

For example if I had a registration page & wanted to display the registration form in the center, a menu on the left, and a list of most recent news on the right, it obviously does not make sense to bundle all of these into one function/view.

I was wondering if someone could give me a brief explanation or point me to a tutorial that explains the best practice for this kind of scenario.

Many Thanks,
Graham Solomon
Sir P
HI gsolomonuk,

No, quite a good question and does take a bit of digging to find the answer when your new to cakephp dont sweat it.

The HTML for your registration form would be in /views/yourcontroller/register.ctp for example... and in the file /views/layouts/default.ctp (or whatever you have named your template) you would have your normal $content_for_layout that displays the reg form.. and then to display the menu or any other repeated chunks of HTML, use the Element system...

in /views/layouts/default.ctp..

[php]
echo $this->element('menu');
[/php]

and then create the menu html in /views/elements/menu.ctp

Let us know how you get on,

Cheers,

gsolomonuk
Thanks for that Sir P, I think a combination of elements and plugins thrown into the layout is what I am after.

Graham
Sir P
Good stuff...